Tribal Government

On February 1, 1998 a Secretarial election was held where the qualified voters of the Mechoopda approved and adopted the Constitution of the Mechoopda Indian Tribe of Chico Rancheria, California.

The Constitution provides the foundation for implementing the Tribe's status as a federally recognized Indian Tribe, to promote the common welfare as Tribal Members and as a political entity, and to secure to the Tribal Members and their descendants the rights, powers and privileges of Tribal Sovereignty.

The governing body of the Mechoopda Indian Tribe is the Tribal Council. The Mechoopda Tribal Council is comprised of seven members elected by the General Membership, consisting of four officers, Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, Secretary, Treasurer and three additional at-large members. The General Membership is comprised of approximately 413 Tribal Members.

Click here for the tribe's organizational chart.

Tribal Council

Dennis Ramirez   Tribal Chairman
Sandra Knight   Vice Chairperson
He-Lo Ramirez   Treasurer
Roberta Lewis      Secretary
Jenny Adkins   Member At Large
Isaiah Meders   Member At Large
Barbara Rose    Member At Large


  • Election
  • Enrollment
  • Finance